Miley Cyrus and being fearfully and wonderfully made.

9

August 27, 2013 by zachames

So I finally got to see the Miley Cyrus video just now. It was as bad as you guys said it was. It was also weird to see everyone’s reaction to only Miley and forget that she was performing with a 36 year old man. No unbalanced judgment there. Regardless, it was a strange spectacle and I struggled to grasp what it meant.

 
I celebrated 1 year of being a dad to a beautiful daughter this past Sunday and what a year it has been. I know how fiercely I love little Ella and how if anyone ever said the things I’ve seen people say about that Miley, I’d bring the house down on them, no matter if the stuff was true or not. I have such dreams for that little beauty, that she take after her dad’s love of books, become the first person on Mars, and win Wimbledon. I wonder what hopes her father had for her. I think it’s safe to say it wasn’t what happened last night. I know alot of people want to chalk up that performance to just another battle in a culture war that we somehow haven’t seemed to realize is a sham. 
 
Last night was a desperate cry, a begging for someone to love her. It was Gomer’s search for a lover to satisfy her needs, despite the fact Hosea waited patiently as The Lord commanded. It was the prodigal son out living a life of decadence while his father waited patiently for who know how many days. It was Mary Magdalene doing whatever God awful things she was doing before she laid herself at the feet of the savior. Each one of those involved someone who waited for them, someone who either reflected or actually was the embodiment of the Gospel of perfect grace.
 
At our local church, Dave has recently begun our new theme of Hope. If you couldn’t look at her eyes and see a wild desire for a hope she can’t even fathom. How often do we remember Ephesians 2:12 before hacking into someone so clearly lost. We shake our fists and heads and talk about fame mongering or how bad the world has gotten. Have we forgotten that we were once cut off from hope as well? We had no hope, and essentially did nothing to gain it. It was imparted on us. Despite all the sin we are wrecked with, we still have hope that we are sons and daughters of the king and that he looks on us with Christ’s righteousness as our own. The sins of our best day rank as high as Miley’s raunchiest performance.
 
I hope there is someone around her to not give up, her father or someone who will look her in the eye and tell her how much she is loved, and how much she is fearfully and wonderfully made. I recently sat with an old Young Life friend who recounted some of their darker times and just how bad it got. It was a roller coaster of emotions as they told me of depravity they fell so far into and how Christ worked through YL leaders in never giving up on them. Never giving up. Never giving up.
 
I don’t know if that will happen with Miley Cyrus, it doesn’t look promising. I also am not calling what happened on that stage as anything less than trashy. What I am saying is that if our first thought is to talk about how trashy that person is or how terrible they are, then we’ve lost the focus of the Gospel. We’ve lost the fact that Christ came to save sinners, of whom we are all chief. Don’t lose sight of the fact that Christ formed Miley in her mother’s womb and she is a creation of beauty in the eyes of the Father.
 
As Ella and I walked through her grandparents backyard this evening, picking and eating muscadines straight off the vine, I was paralyzed with the fear that Ella has every bit the fallen nature that could lead her straight to such a stage as Miley Cyrus found herself on the other night. But, in the end I trust in a Savior that tells me for good or ill, I will be her father and she will be always beautiful in my eyes. I will always be there to take her by the hand and tell her how much I love her and how grand of a creation she is. I pray that someone is that for the scared little girl who cloaked her fear in defiance and debauchery last night.
9 thoughts on “Miley Cyrus and being fearfully and wonderfully made.

  1. Cynthia Williams says:

    Yep, but she is supposed to be a Christian already. Why do we, as the public, put up with such stuff. That’s good preaching, but we don’t have to put up with it. Just like you’re not gonna put up with a guy groping your daughter and being ok with it because Christ died for his sins. We can love them & realize they are on the right track without patting them on the back and saying “go ahead, you’re just looking for love”. I don’t let my girls watch Miley Cyrus or anyone like her because it’s my job to protect them from the imaginary world of hollywood. Yes, I realize all that you said & I agree, but why have we as a society gone so far out there as to allow this kind of behavior on TV & in concerts that young people attend. We should fall on our faces & ask forgiveness for putting up with stuff that is no longer wholesome. Anything goes on TV anymore and it’s our fault. You don’t watch it, they won’t show it. I didn’t watch the show. I just saw a nasty picture of Miley, but she’s not the first to be outrageous and nasty on TV. It’s not Miley Cyrus, it’s the fact that she or anyone else can do that on TV, no less.

    • zachames says:

      Hey Cynthia,

      Thanks so much for replying. I’m not one to question people’s salvation but I’d be slow to use the argument that she’s a Christian already. I don’t see much fruit of that. Regardless, she needs to hear the gospel whatever her standing before God. Once, when the great Reformer modern Luther was asked why he continued to preach only the Gospel, Sunday after Sunday, he replied “Because every week we forget it.” You’ll have to define public and put up with as to what you mean. If you mean secular society, then I’m not sure what the surprise is. This is what secular societies do. They do this especially when Christians in that society forget their call to be a city on a hill. For the record, we’re not supposed to be known as Christians because of the high morals we have but by how we live towards others. This is why Paul said in 2 Corinthians 12:15 “I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls. If I love you more, am I to be loved less?” and continued to describe himself as the chief of sinners and least of saints.

      As for a man groping my daughter, obviously I’d be distraught. I made it clear that I’d defend her even if she were engaged in the activities of Miss Cyrus. I’m human and can’t even grasp the concept of extending grace as God does. David spied on a woman bathing on a roof, brought her home, seduced and impregnated her, tried to trick her husband into sleeping with her to cover it up, and then had him killed. God’s grace was enough for him. Peter denied Christ himself, God’s grace was enough, who knows what the thief next to Jesus on the cross did, but God’s grace was enough. My grace will never be enough, but thankfully my grace doesn’t matter.

      Our society is pretty terrible. Yeah, this generation pushes the limits of sexuality. The previous generation legalized the wholesale slaughter of unborn children. The one before that wouldn’t allow people of different skin tones to use the same bathrooms, restaurants, and bus seats as others. Before that we locked up 110,000 Japanese Americans, some of whom were multi generational citizens, for nother reason than we were scared. A few generations before that we allowed others to own the lives of other humans. Can you even fathom that? I cannot. We don’t have a morality problem, we have a human dignity problem. We refuse to see others as fearfully and wonderfully. We’d rather write them off and moan about how unwholesome this world is. Christ came to love and redeem an unwholesome world. He ate with sinners and the pharisees grumbled against him for it.

      Again, I’ll use Ephesians 2:12, this time through verse 19.

      “11 Therefore remember that at one time you Gentiles in the flesh, called “the uncircumcision” by what is called the circumcision, which is made in the flesh by hands— 12 remember that you were at that time separated from Christ, alienated from the commonwealth of Israel and strangers to the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world. 13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ. 14 For he himself is our peace, who has made us both one and has broken down in his flesh the dividing wall of hostility 15 by abolishing the law of commandments expressed in ordinances, that he might create in himself one new man in place of the two, so making peace, 16 and might reconcile us both to God in one body through the cross, thereby killing the hostility. 17 And he came and preached peace to you who were far off and peace to those who were near. 18 For through him we both have access in one Spirit to the Father. 19 So then you are no longer strangers and aliens,[d] but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God, 20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone, 21 in whom the whole structure, being joined together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord. 22 In him you also are being built together into a dwelling place for God by[e] the Spirit.”

      We should speak out against sin but it rings empty if the hope of future grace and justification through Christ’s atonement doesn’t follow then our words ring empty. Many thanks again for contributing to he discussion.

  2. Clarissa says:

    You managed to pen what my heart was crying out while watching what little I could of that debacle.

  3. Jeanne Stapelkamp says:

    I feel in my heart that we should pray for this child, Miley.

  4. Neil Ray says:

    I really appreciated your response to the Miley Cirus video and your response to Cynthia Williams. I agree with all you had to say. I do get tired of Christians saying it is our fault that the world is the way it is, because we are not doing what we should do. No, the world is the way it is because we are all born sinners and unless God intervenes to create us anew, we would all continue on the road of self-destruction …

  5. Rob says:

    I saw your blog as it was shared by a friend on facebook. Incredibly well said. She is searching… and yet we know that she is empty. It’s truly sad. I once worked under a pastor that told me to leave the “hopeless” people (a few of my students that were seriously dealing with sex & drugs continually) alone and spend my time worrying about those who weren’t lost in their sin. Something changed in me that day when my heart broke at those words and I believe God showed me HIS heart. He never gave up on me and still doesn’t… why would I give up on hoping, praying, pushing with all my might to give people a chance to know the all encompassing love and grace of Jesus that I experience daily and desperately need myself even as a pastor. Is not my call as a disciple to be Christ’s voice of love and grace to a world that hates Him? And since when do we expect any different from the world and those caught up in it? Should we really expect they will be good role models? Or do we forget so quickly that the Scriptures make so utterly clear the fact that the world and it’s standards are in direct opposition to Christ and those who follow Him… and that they will even hate us because of Him. Should any of us be surprised that this broken girl would express herself this way? Do we really expect more of a person who has rejected the values of Christ? OUTRAGE? People… what ever happened to compassion? Since when did we forget that Christ never condemned the woman caught in adultery but ushered her accusers away with stark truth and then lavished her with grace and love that no lover could possibly ever show her? Would we accuse Christ of being too gracious to the brash sinners of the world? Or have we become so Pharisaical that we see ourselves as better than other sinners?

    Your words have been a blessing and reminder of God’s grace. Thank you for being a voice of truth in a Christian Community that has so often rejected what it truly means to be a follower of Christ in the way we love those that desperately need Christ. I too pray that there will be people who never give up on Miley… that they continue to speak truth and love her… even in her darkest hours.

    Blessings.

  6. Lavette Hay says:

    I love, love, love your article! It brought tears to my eyes. I believe that the Lord Jesus has enabled you to see others through His eyes. My prayer is that all believers pray every day that He will enable us to see what He sees and to have His heart for others …and to draw ever closer to Him every single day.

Leave a Reply

