I wasn’t going to write about Trayvon Martin

3

July 26, 2013 by zachames

That was until i had to see people post this Bill Whittle Afterburner video with their exclamations of “So right!” and “Everyone read this!”. Over and over and over again. Because what we need is more old angry white guys sitting around lecturing how the black community is terrible and wrong. That will obviously solve continuing racial problems in the United States. What? Its been forever since we’ve had racial problems in the US. Quick quiz on United States history. We won the Revolutionary War in 1783. Anyone know how long before we were reinvaded by the British? 30 years. Not exactly the next day was it. Its been 45 years since MLK was assassinated. Not so long ago. Apartheid fell in South Africa less than 25 years ago. The Ku Klux Klan still exists. I personally witnessed a fairly well attended white supremacy rally on the courthouse steps earlier this year. There are still bigots all over. If you say there isn’t, then you have been in another dimension. Heck, I’m writing against it and I still have the occasional racist thought or laugh at a racist joke. Is it the same as 1965 in Montgomery? No, but that doesn’t mean racism is still in the grave. In fact, I’d wager it will always exist. Because this world is broken.More on the spiritual aspects of that later.

On to the video. For the record. I am actually more qualified in academics to commentate on this case. I actually have a degree in Political Science from Georgia State University. Bill Whittle dropped out of college while majoring in theater. I’m not saying this to point out that I’m better than him just that I got a degree involved in the subject criteria and completed the research required. I didn’t go to college to learn how to entertain the masses only to use a medium to scare the masses into turning from mainstream media into turning to him, with all of his qualifications.

Now the video. For the record, I somewhat agree with the assessment that the media did a terrible job covering this from the beginning. It got so frenzied that the prosecution over corrected not arresting Zimmerman earlier by then arresting him and charging him with second degree murder, a charge he was never going to be convicted of. To get a conviction out of that charge the prosecution would have to have essentially proved that Zimmerman approached Martin with the intent to kill. I don’t think anyone would argue that being the case. The case was doomed from the beginning. He should have been tried

Whittle could have stopped there and I might have let him go. He didn’t. He then began to portray Martin as thug who apparently looking for a fight. Whittle forgets that just as in a rape trial the person raped is not on trial the person who died a murder or manslaughter trial is not on trial. The person who caused the death is. Did Martin take pictures of himself flipping off a camera? Yep. So did 50,000 other teenagers on instagram yesterday. I would have done it if instagram were around when I was 17. Was he into MMA and underground fighting? It appears that away, along with a fairly large majority of young white males who have self esteem issues. Including Zimmerman himself who trained at an MMA gym. I wasn’t into MMA but we had some fairly nasty boxing sessions in the locker room when I was in high school. I can assure you that none of us were going out to rob houses or kill anyone anytime soon. Also, he apparently was a bit of a thief. So was the guy Jesus forgave on the cross. I used to spend many a night stealing road signs with my best friends. I can guarantee you that if we’re walking by your house at night, we have no intention of robbing it. As for the Lean usage. Its been around for years, we just called it Purple Drank. No, I’ve never had it, but I’ve sang along with Three Six Mafia’s “Sipping on Some Syrup” on more than one occasion. I thought it was Jolly Ranchers and Sprite that went along with it, but apparently the recipe has changed. Regardless, Whittle  then claims that Lean has been linked with extreme physical aggression and paranoia. Lean being an alternative to Purple drank has the same basic drug, codeine, right? How come Purple Drank’s listed reactions are typically listed as depression and sedation? Because that’s what they are. Whittle got his information about his claimed “reactions” from online message board discussions about Lean. Online message boards are where every self respecting journalist goes for the truth.

Also Zimmerman was not a racist. Apparently the proof of this was that he lived in the same town as black people and was apparently nice to them at times. Are we disregarding his old myspace page too with quotes like “mexicans walkin on the side of the street, soft ass wanna be thugs messin with peoples cars when they aint around.” This despite the fact that a great deal of effort has been put in to point out that Zimmerman wasn’t even white. Fact- You don’t have to be white to be racist. Reading further you can find references to domestic violence with a former girlfriend he affectionately refers to as a “hoe.” Classy.

I’m stopping here because I can’t watch anymore. It’s just sad. Here’s what happened. A guy thought a kid walking through the neighborhood at night looked suspicious. So he called 911. They told him to stay in the car, I’d imagine they tell you that to avoid what happened. Instead he got out and pursued him. A fight ensued(lets remember that Zimmerman was also a fan of MMA). A person was shot and killed. Had the charge originally been manslaughter, we’d have a guilty verdict. Instead the jury spent weeks concentrating on a charge that was never going to stick and waited until the last minute to consider the right charge. In the end he was acquitted. Contrary to popular belief, that’s not a seal to keep from criticizing our justice system. We question the outcome of cases all the time from Sacco & Vanzetti to guys being pulled off death row en masse because of new evidence or findings that show the case was tried unfairly.

In the end, I’m saddened by my brothers and sisters in Christ who treat this like a game where their gun rights and ability to “defend” their homes were upheld. A 17 year old kid died. It’s a tragedy. Weep, mourn, and stop posting videos by people who don’t know what they’re talking about.

3 thoughts on “I wasn’t going to write about Trayvon Martin

  1. Seth Phelps says:

    I posted that Whittle Video on FB because it showed the corruption in our media/government. It doesn’t say anything about how the black community is wrong. This whole case was from the start to cause more racial division in America.

    Now, I don’t know what the side effects of LEAN is (Or even heard of LEAN since I saw this video[Or Whittle for that matter]) but you’re right about codeine. Whittle is most likely wrong about the side effects because I was like “Whaaat?” when I heard that lol.

    You make a good point the case was doomed from the beginning.

    I don’t understand why you think everything he says is wrong though?
    Eh.

    • zachames says:

      Thanks for taking the time to reply. For the record I didn’t post the blog in direct answer to you nor was it meant to belittle anyone. I don’t remember who all posted it, just that I saw it a lot. I would agree that there’s corruption in our media and government. I’d say Whittle is a part of that, rather than a critic. 2 things lead me to say that. 1 is the blame the victim mentality I mentioned when he wanted to portray Martin as a thuggish kid. 2 is the flat out lie(I’m pretty confident enough to call it that now.) about the Lean stuff. Both are evidence of fear mongering. The same fear mongering typical of uber conservatives like Glenn Beck and Bill O’Reilly or uber liberals like Rachel Maddow or Keith Olberman. Sure they occasionally say things that could be categorized as correct but on the whole they’re looking for ratings. In Whittle’s case, simply youtube views. Its hard enough with basic journalistic integrity eroding at a rapid pace, but these guys have fallen into the trap that can only come with trying to fill a 24 hour news network with good ratings. Use a little truth, a lot of lie and a whole bunch of fear to get people to listen to them.

      I think its a bit naive to even think that racial division doesn’t exist in America or that its on its deathbed or even just a wild fear of a side that wants a self fulfilling prophecy. As Christians we both know that the most segregated place in America is the church. Of course racism is still around. It will always be around. Paul wouldn’t felt compelled to list it in Galatians 3:28 if it was going to disappear. If anything the church is both the the answer and the one to blame for its continued existence. I don’t give Jessie Jackson or Al Sharpton the credibility to be able to continue racial divides in this country.

      It would appear, looking at Zimmerman’s thoughts on thugs and other races(Mexicans) that he carried the gene all of us have to be suspicious of someone based on appearance.. Despite the fact that he was told to stay in the car he got out because in his words “These {expletive} always get away.” Again, I don’t think Zimmerman is a Klan member racist,. I think he let a misplaced suspicion and inability to follow the suggestion that every 911 dispatcher knows is one of their more important commandments(stay in your vehicle) and as a neighborhood watch commander, Zimmerman was well acquainted with as well. IN the end he exited the vehicle and pursued a person he said was running away already, had I been in the same situation I would have feared for my life and probably tried to defend myself. Who threw the first punch is sort of irrelevant.

  2. Emily says:

    Thank you so much for this post. “In the end, I’m saddened by my brothers and sisters in Christ who treat this like a game where their gun rights and ability to ‘defend’ their homes were upheld. A 17 year old kid died. It’s a tragedy.” EXACTLY. I could amen this a million times.

Leave a Reply

